ASQ Hartford Section welcomes both suggestions for Education Topics and  Candidates offering their services as Instructors.



The Hartford Section of the American Society for Quality (ASQ) would like to extend sincere condolences to the family of Tony Foley at this sad time of his passing (Jan. 20, 2018). Tony was a gentleman, tireless worker, statistician, quality expert and colleague to many members of the Hartford Section and other quality professionals throughout his long career in quality and statistics. For more than 35 years Tony has been involved with the Hartford Section serving on the Executive Board in various capacities including duties involving education and recertification including his wise advice on many matters. He will be missed.

The Executive Board of Hartford Section, ASQ 0103


Quality improvement in any organization requires the vision, effort and persistence of those individuals who are part of that organization. As Quality professionals, we all know that recognition for those efforts can go a long way towards improving the morale and motivation. In recognition of that fact, the Hartford Section sponsors an annual Quality Recognition Award, the Joe Trowbridge Award. The purpose of the award is recognize those individuals or teams who have made significant improvements in quality and productivity in their workplace over the past year. To be eligible, nominees need not be members of the Hartford Section ASQ or even be part of the Quality organization. Past award winners have included Inspectors, Engineers, Technicians, Managers, and teams.

This year, award winners will be recognized at the June membership dinner meeting. Winners and their significant others attend as guests of the Hartford Section. At the meeting, they will be presented with a plaque and coupons for upcoming ASQ dinner meetings. The coupons will allow them to attend three dinner meetings as guests of the Hartford Section.

The Awards Committee reserves the right to give out more than one award in a given year.



Rate your nominee on a scale of 0 to 5 by underlining the appropriate response for each of the following seven attributes.


Powered by ChronoForms - ChronoEngine.com


ASQ Hartford will no longer be processing recertifications.  This process is now being offered via the global body of ASQ.  If it is time for you to recertify, please visit https://asq.org/cert/recertify. For assistance, please contact a customer care representative at 800-248-1946.

Hartford Section 103 of the American Society for Quality was first organized under the name of the Hartford Society for Measurement on December 15, 1942 in the auditorium of the Hartford Electric Light Company in Hartford, Connecticut.

G.L.Manke, Pres. (Veeder Root, Inc)
S.J.Zelle, V.P. & Secretary (The Whitney Chain Co.)
A.McDougall, Treasurer (Pratt & Whitney Aircraft)

Advisory Board:
R. T. Palmer (R. T. Palmer Company)
W. H. Gourlie (P&W Division, Niles-Bement-Pond)
S. G. Johnson (Johnson Gage Company)
R.K. Hellman (Great American Ind. Ct Telephone & Electric Div)
J. J. Ferri (American Bosch Corporation)

The purpose of the fledgling society was the improvement and advancement of measuring and control devices used in manufacturing and engineering practices.
On May 12, 1970 the American Society for Quality Control chartered the Hartford Society for Measurement as an official section of the Society.

In 1988, Governor William O'Neill designated October as Quality Month in Connecticut in recognition of the valuable contributions of the Society to the growth and development of the state's economy.

In 1993, the Hartford Section affiliated with the Connecticut Quality Council to further their common goals of promoting the development of all facets of quality.

From that small beginning membership in the Hartford Section has grown steadily to an average of 175 during the 1950's and 1960's, to 700 by the turn of the century.
Today, the Hartford Section is a thriving organization, continuing to meet the needs of its membership in times of rapid change in business relationships, in technology, and in the marketplace.

Past Chairs

1942-1943 Gus L. Manke Veeder-Root, Inc.
1943-1944 Stephen J. Zelle Whitney Chain Company
1944-1945 Stanley G. Johnson Johnson Gage Company
1945-1946 Stanley G. Johnson Johnson Gage Company
1946-1947 William H. Gourlie P&W Division Niles-Bement-Pond
1947-1948 Archie McDougall Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
1948-1949 Arnold B. Collins Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
1949-1950 Dorian Shainin Hamilton Standard Division
1950-1951 Arthur B. Shea Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
1951-1952 Chester A. Hoffmann Capewell Manufacturing Company
1952-1953 George H. Selig P&W Division Niles-Bement-Pond
1953-1954 Robert E. Connor Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
1954-1955 Charles V. Kropp U.S.A.F. Inspector, Air Material Command
1955-1956 Chester A. Govang Capewell Manufacturing Company
1956-1957 Albert E. Aubin Royal Typewriter Company
1957-1958 Ernest B. Bozenhard Pratt & Whitney, Inc. West Hartford
1958-1959 Frank J. Hauman Royal McBee Corporation
1959-1960 Herbert E. France, Jr. Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
1960-1961 Kenneth Martin, Jr. Holo Krome Screw Corporation
1961-1962 Eugene W. Ellis, Jr. Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
1962-1963 Lawrence J. Sespaniak Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
1963-1964 Robert H. Phelps Royal McBee Corporation
1964-1965 Anthony B. Manzi Skinner Precision
1965-1966 L. Blair Alexander Fafnir Bearing Company
1966-1967 Carl H. Josephson Ensign-Bickford
1967-1968 H. Harlow Richardson Royal Typewriter Company
1968-1969 Howard I. Parsons Fafnir Bearing Company
1969-1970 Alan Lowenthal Kaman Aerospace Corporation
1970-1971 Bruce Mackay Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
1971-1972 Anthony S. Kasmierski Colt's Firearms
1972-1973 Edward M. Stiles Chandler Evans Control Systems
1973-1974 H. Newton Ale Chandler Evans Control Systems
1974-1975 Robert Roseberry Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
1975-1976 Bertrand Morency, Jr. Projects, Inc.
1976-1977 Alan Doty Digital
1977-1978 David Miska Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
1978-1979 Andre Dulam Smith & Wesson
1979-1980 Paul Vik Adams Aircraft
1980-1981 Marum Bishop Combustion Engineering
1981-1982 Robert Kemp Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
1982-1983 Francis Danko Eastern Tool & Die
1983-1984 Francis Danko Eastern Tool & Die
1984-1985 William Medinger Consultant
1985-1986 Frederick Polidori Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
1986-1987 Frederick Polidori Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
1987-1988 Richard C. Lindstrom Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
1988-1989 Brian Jones Combustion Engineering
1989-1990 Brian Jones Combustion Engineering
1990-1991 Mariano Hutchison Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
1991-1992 Marty O'Neill International Fuel Cells
1992-1993 Bruce Vagts Hamilton Standard
1993-1994 Charles LeVasseur Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
1994-1995 Charles LeVasseur Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
1995-1996 Frank Seibert Continental Machine Tool Co. Inc.
1996-1997 Frank Seibert Continental Machine Tool Co. Inc.
1997-1998 Dennis Gareau Dynamic Gunver Technology
1998-1999 Dennis Gareau Dynamic Gunver Technology
1999-2000 Dave Hall JDS Uniphase
2000-2001 Dave Hall JDS Uniphase
2001-2002 Ida Gall Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
2002-2003 Ida Gall Pratt & Whitney Aircraft
2003-2004 Roy Duff Vision Technical Molding, LLC
2004-2005 Roy Duff Vision Technical Molding, LLC
2005-2006 Thomas Gallagher  Hamilton Sunstrand Corporation 
2006-2007 Thomas Gallagher Hamilton Sunstrand Corporation 
2007-2008 Robert Dembkoski D.A.D.T
2008-2009 Robert Dembkoski D.A.D.T
2009-2010 Robert Dembkoski D.A.D.T
2010-2011 Robert Dembkoski Winslow Automatic Inc
2011-2012 Thomas Berstene Workforce Planning Associates