Date:  January 25,2019

Message from the Chair Bill Forthofer  



I would like to take this opportunity to again thank you, our membership, for your continued support of ASQ Hartford Section this past year. We welcome new Leadership positions: Roy Duff Treasurer, Stephen Gabbert Secretary, Vivian Vidal Otero Membership Chair, and Nicole Boney-Sharpe Publicity Chair. A special thanks to Joe Brzoska who completed his term as Hartford ASQ Treasurer. Joe has graciously volunteered to be part of our Awards Committee.

Our Programs Committee, chaired by Dennis Gareau, as well as our Education Committee, “New” Chair Mark Roy, continue to be extremely busy over the last few months lining up presenters for our Monthly Membership Meetings as well as continuing our Education Courses/Workshops. We are all set with Membership Events through June of 2019. You can now view previous event presentations on our Website.

We have also been successful in scheduling the CQE/CQT, CMQ/OE & CQA Courses that start in February/finish in May. Classes are held at the Central Connecticut State University Institute of Technology and Business Development. See Table Below: Note those listed as TBD are still under development. Please provide feedback to the Education Chair if you have an interest in being an Instructor or ideas for Quality Topics to be considered. Visit ASQHartford.org for Registration & more information.


ASQ Hartford Events Schedule - Tracker 2019
Membership Monthly Event Date
AESQ Standards 10-Jan
Valentine’s Day Celebration Adams Mill 14-Feb
Cyber Security (CONNSTEP) 14-Mar
REACh and Materials of Concern 11-Apr
Tour: UTC Collins Aero Customer Resp. Ctr 9-May (TENT)
Zero Defect Plans (ZDP) 13-Jun
Cources/Workshops Date
CQE/CQT Course Feb 5, 2019
CQM/OE Course Feb 7, 2019
CQA Course Feb 5, 2019
PPAP Workshop Spring 2019
Quality & Capacity TBD (Fall)
Certified Supplier QA Professional (CSQP) TBD (Fall)


I hope to continue to grow our attendance at our monthly meetings; this is a great opportunity to expand your awareness in the Quality field and “Network” with other Quality Professionals. Familiar faces are always welcomed back and I hope those numbers grow as well!! 



Bill Forthofer, Chair Hartford Section 0103